top of page
Search
  • danielgrinchenko

5th Assignment: Algorithmic Bias

1) Where do we see examples of algorithmic bias around us? ​


We see algorithmic bias all around us. We can mainly find it in places like social media, or websites. Advertisements will be sent to you based on age, gender, and what you recently searched up.


2) Had you heard of any of these examples?​


No I haven't heard about any of these examples. The first time I've even heard of this was from the video you linked us: "How I'm fighting bias in algorithms."


3) Does this change our perception of computers (infallibility, certainty etc.)?​


It changes my perception a little bit. I did not realize how impactful this was and it definitely shows that computers should not be fully trusted/relied on. They cant be 100 percent accurate.


4) How can we use awareness of this issue to make better choices, decisions, or share?


We can raise awareness by telling people about this. Not many people know about algorithmic bias and informing them can have a big impact. In fact, it is necessary to inform people about it.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Final Project Part 2

For my final project I took inspiration from one of the projects I worked on earlier in the semester. It was a failed attempt at a maze game. I decided to remake the game into a fully functional maze

Final Project

For my final I wanted to work on my midterm hockey game. I added some decorations to the hockey rink to make it look more like an actual hockey rink. I also added a the Rangers goal horn every time th

Assignment 8: Circuits

All my circuit does is light up LED lights with the press of a button. The catch is that is spells out the word "Hi" with a smiley face on it. It looks a bit messy but I did what I could with my knowl

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page